Your current country is:United States (US)
Change your country:

Ok

16.01.2017
News & Events

Victory at the 24H of Dubai for Alex Toril

Perfect start into the season for Alexander Toril. The 20 year old Spaniard won class 991 of Porsche 911 GT3 Cup cars at the 24 hours race of Dubai. It was Toril´s second victory at a 24h race at his second attempt.

After BLACK FALCON Team TMD Friction´s Porsche 911 GT3 Cup number 68 started the race from position five, starting driver Anders Fjordbach quickly climbed up the grid during the first few laps. He came into the pits in second position and handed the car over to Alexander Toril who managed to claim the leading position within his first stint in the car.

During the next couple of hours the drivers quartet Toril, Fjordbach, Saud Al Faisal and Saeed Al Mouri only lost the leading position once due to unlucky circumstances within a Cod-60-period. After a long night number 68 had several laps advantage in front of the second car of the class.

Eventually, the four drivers crossed the line with four laps advantage taking victory in class and scoring a superb 12th position overall. This also meant the team was the best not-GT3 car on the scoreboard.

The 24H race in Dubai was not only the first race outside of Europe, but also only the second 24h race in his still young career for Alexander Toril. After his victory at the 24 hours of Nürburgring back in May 2016 Toril can look back at achievements at two of the most important 24 hour races in the world. With his recent victory in Dubai, Toril once again showed his skills to withstand the rough conditions during long distance races and that he quickly adapted from the Porsche Carrera Cup to a more complex type of racing.

“It´s a great feeling to win the second 24 hours race in a row. The whole team did a perfect job, the car was great and we had not a single issue. I want to thank my teammates for their flawless performance, the team and my partners. Without them this achievement wouldn’t´t have been possible. After this perfect start into the new season I´m looking forward to the next races”, Toril said after the ceremony.

Dein aktuelles Land ist:Vereinigte Staaten von Amerika (USA)
Ändere dein Land:

Ok

16.01.2017
News & Events

Alex Toril siegt bei den 24H Rennen in Dubai

Perfekter Start in die Saison für Alexander Toril. Der 20-jährige Spanier hat die Klasse 991 Porsche of 911 GT3 Cup cars an den 24 Stunden Rennen in Dubai gewonnen. Es war Toril’s zweites 24h Rennen und zugleich sein zweiter Sieg.

Nachdem BLACK FALCON Team TMD Friction´s Porsche 911 GT3 Cup Nummer 68 das Rennen auf Position 5 begonnen hat, starting driver Anders Fjordbach konnte innert den ersten paar Runden die Rangliste hochklettern. Er kam in die Pits als Zweiter und hat das Auto an Alexander Toril übergeben. Toril konnte auf Platz 1 vorstossen.

In den nächsten paar Stunden, das Fahrer Quartett Toril, Fjordbach, Saud Al Faisal and Saeed Al Mouri verlor die Leader Position aufgrund unglücklicher Umstände während einer Cod-60-Period nur einmal. Nach einer langen Nacht, Nummer 68 hatte mehrere Runden Vorsprung vor dem Zweitplatzierten in der Klasse.

Am Schluss, die vier Fahrer gewannen die Klasse mit 4 Runden Vorsprung und erreichten die fantastische Gesamt-Position 12. Das heisst auch, das Team war das beste nicht-GT3 Auto auf der Rangliste.

Das 24H Rennen von Dubai war nicht nur Toril’s erstes Rennen ausserhalb Europas, sondern auch erst das zweite 24H Rennen ingesamt in seiner jungen Karriere. Nach seinem Sieg an dem 24H Rennen vom Nürnburgring im Mai 2016, Toril konnte bereits zwei der wichtigsten 24H der Welt für sich und sein Team entscheiden. Mit dem Sieg in Dubai zeigte Toril seine Fähigkeiten unter extremen Bedingungen in long-distance Rennen und dass er sich schnell von dem Porsche Carrera Cup an einen komplexeren Renn Typ anpassen kann.

„Es ist ein grossartiges Gefühl das zweite 24 Stunden Rennen in Folge zu gewinnen. Das ganze Team hat einen perfekten Job gemacht, das Auto war toll und wir hatten nicht einen Zwischenfall. Ich bedanke mich bei meinen Teamkollegen für Ihre fehlerfreie Leistung, dem Team und meinen Partnern. Ohne sie wäre dieser Sieg nicht möglich gewesen. Nach diesem perfekten Start in die neue Saison freue ich mich nun auf die nächsten Rennen“, sagte Toril nach der Pokalübergabe.